The story...LONG...
Jun. 12th, 2003 06:05 pmSo, I had left karaoke. He showed up at my place about 20 minutes later. I met him at the door, returned his hat and said nothing. He asked to use my bathroom. I conceeded and let him in. I returned to my couch and the laptop. When he emerged from the bathroom he sat next to me on the couch.
"So, you staying for a bit."
"Yeah. What did they say?"
"They said the same thing as both the urine tests. I am pregnant. Only now we knoe there is a conception date of April 6-13th... Remember the week you hunted me down at the star bar and asked me to take you home with me? Talked about our "trial period"? Spent most of the week in bed with me...that would be when."
There was much conversation after that of me being kind of angry and crying a lot and letting him know he has been an asshole to walk out on me when I told him I was pregnant. He asked me if I wanted him back. I said no.
"I think I can fairly safely say that I don't love you anymore."
His reply- He kissed me. Deeply. Then he said "I had hoped that we could take a little time to grow and change than then..."
"Then what?"
"Well, it doesn't mater if you don't love me anymore."
Then he kissed me again. Longer, deeper.
"Now, tell me again that you don't love me anyore."
I just wept.
"When I came over a couple of weeks ago to tell you we needed to stay away from each other you asked me if I could say that I didn't love you. Ask me that again."
"Ok, tell me that you don't love me."
"I can't."
I just cried more.
We talked more. He agreed to be more supportive emotionaly and financially with the whole pregnancy thing and to generally try to be a friend.
So, I broke down. I talked about how sick I had been. I talked about how scary and alone it all was. I told him of all the offers from people to be here for me and me being unwilling to take it most of the time.
"Should I be the one whose shoulder you cry on?"
Me- more crying.
"Do you want me to stay the night?"
...
"Do you? I will. Do you want me to spend the night?"
"I don't know. I mean...."
"Please. Let me stay. Let me hold you and take care of you."
At this I just collapsed.
So, he stayed. He held me all night. He kissed me and apologized. He told me how much he had missed me. Then we slept. When we woke the next afternoon he began to kiss me. Morning mouth and all. He removed my clothes and we had sex. (I would ilke to say made love but I will not be so presumptious.) Between gasps he told me that he missed me, he had said before that I was still the most attractive woman he knew.
After, we held each other. We didn't talk. I think we both knew how complicated things were/are...pregnancy or no. (Sarah hit the nail on the head when she said "The two of you are still so wrapped up and hung up on each other you really just need to hash it all out.") I told him that we had to stop falling into bed together. He nodded. I told him that, to be honest, withthe pregnancy and how compliated it has already been I had been so scared and alone that I probably would have had sex with anyone who just held me and told me it was all going to be all right. This is really saying a lot for me since I am incapable of having casual sex.
As he was leaving I told him that I didn't want thing to be anymore complicated than they had to be.
"I know that you still have feelings for me that make being my friend difficult. It is a hard line to hold. So I'll make you a deal. You take the responsibiltiy to make sure that you continue to be a friend, especially about the pregnancy and I'll take the responsibility to make sure that we don't wind up having sex again until things are less confusing."
He just nodded.
Then he kisssed me.
Now, this is what I don't get...
HE is the one who decided that we couldn't be in a relationship until he is done "sorting out his life". With that- what difference does it make if I still love him? What difference does it make if he still loves me? It doesn't really change anything...right? Why did he need to make that a point? I really had resigned myself to the idea that he was just going to be an asshole about the whole thing. At best he might throw some money at the problem. (But, his chronic unemployment status made that very doubtful.)
Now....It is hard. All the resolve that I had to get through this without him is shaken. I have felt from the very begining that HE was the one who should be here for me in this because he was the other side of the equasion. It didn't relly have anything to do with the past 2 years of being in relationship. It wasn' t that he was ever my fiancee or boyfriend. It was that he is the one who got me pregnant and has responsibilites toward that end.
I do want us to be able to be friends. We were always good at that. I haven't really givenany thought to whether or not I could be in a romantic relationship with him or not. All I have really thought about the past couple of months is being pregnant, broke and unemployed. Solving this issue is the focus of my life. I have realized that since I do still have feelings for him that I can't be in a relationship with someone else because it would be unfair to the other person. But I haven't thought much about being back with Berny.
Why am I tossing all this out here? This is a locked post for women out there who I know are very strong and a couple of men who understand nd valuse feminine strength. I am feeling the need for that feminine strength. I need the input of strong women to tell me why Berny would need to bring up the love issue. I need the thoughts from other strong women for why I might have fallen back into bed with him so easily that night when I knew it was wrong. I need a view point of why Berny's input and support of all of this strife would be so much more soothing to me than that of every other person in my life...especially when I know I can't trust him to maintain it. Thoughts? Sympathy? Empathy? And yes, even the due smacks for being so...what ever it is I am being.....
He and I are supposed to maybe spend time together this weekend. I want the time with him as a friend. I want the placebo effect of his occasional support and compassion. But, that is ALL I want of our time together. I don't want to fall into the trap of "rewarding him for bad behavior" as D would put it.
"So, you staying for a bit."
"Yeah. What did they say?"
"They said the same thing as both the urine tests. I am pregnant. Only now we knoe there is a conception date of April 6-13th... Remember the week you hunted me down at the star bar and asked me to take you home with me? Talked about our "trial period"? Spent most of the week in bed with me...that would be when."
There was much conversation after that of me being kind of angry and crying a lot and letting him know he has been an asshole to walk out on me when I told him I was pregnant. He asked me if I wanted him back. I said no.
"I think I can fairly safely say that I don't love you anymore."
His reply- He kissed me. Deeply. Then he said "I had hoped that we could take a little time to grow and change than then..."
"Then what?"
"Well, it doesn't mater if you don't love me anymore."
Then he kissed me again. Longer, deeper.
"Now, tell me again that you don't love me anyore."
I just wept.
"When I came over a couple of weeks ago to tell you we needed to stay away from each other you asked me if I could say that I didn't love you. Ask me that again."
"Ok, tell me that you don't love me."
"I can't."
I just cried more.
We talked more. He agreed to be more supportive emotionaly and financially with the whole pregnancy thing and to generally try to be a friend.
So, I broke down. I talked about how sick I had been. I talked about how scary and alone it all was. I told him of all the offers from people to be here for me and me being unwilling to take it most of the time.
"Should I be the one whose shoulder you cry on?"
Me- more crying.
"Do you want me to stay the night?"
...
"Do you? I will. Do you want me to spend the night?"
"I don't know. I mean...."
"Please. Let me stay. Let me hold you and take care of you."
At this I just collapsed.
So, he stayed. He held me all night. He kissed me and apologized. He told me how much he had missed me. Then we slept. When we woke the next afternoon he began to kiss me. Morning mouth and all. He removed my clothes and we had sex. (I would ilke to say made love but I will not be so presumptious.) Between gasps he told me that he missed me, he had said before that I was still the most attractive woman he knew.
After, we held each other. We didn't talk. I think we both knew how complicated things were/are...pregnancy or no. (Sarah hit the nail on the head when she said "The two of you are still so wrapped up and hung up on each other you really just need to hash it all out.") I told him that we had to stop falling into bed together. He nodded. I told him that, to be honest, withthe pregnancy and how compliated it has already been I had been so scared and alone that I probably would have had sex with anyone who just held me and told me it was all going to be all right. This is really saying a lot for me since I am incapable of having casual sex.
As he was leaving I told him that I didn't want thing to be anymore complicated than they had to be.
"I know that you still have feelings for me that make being my friend difficult. It is a hard line to hold. So I'll make you a deal. You take the responsibiltiy to make sure that you continue to be a friend, especially about the pregnancy and I'll take the responsibility to make sure that we don't wind up having sex again until things are less confusing."
He just nodded.
Then he kisssed me.
Now, this is what I don't get...
HE is the one who decided that we couldn't be in a relationship until he is done "sorting out his life". With that- what difference does it make if I still love him? What difference does it make if he still loves me? It doesn't really change anything...right? Why did he need to make that a point? I really had resigned myself to the idea that he was just going to be an asshole about the whole thing. At best he might throw some money at the problem. (But, his chronic unemployment status made that very doubtful.)
Now....It is hard. All the resolve that I had to get through this without him is shaken. I have felt from the very begining that HE was the one who should be here for me in this because he was the other side of the equasion. It didn't relly have anything to do with the past 2 years of being in relationship. It wasn' t that he was ever my fiancee or boyfriend. It was that he is the one who got me pregnant and has responsibilites toward that end.
I do want us to be able to be friends. We were always good at that. I haven't really givenany thought to whether or not I could be in a romantic relationship with him or not. All I have really thought about the past couple of months is being pregnant, broke and unemployed. Solving this issue is the focus of my life. I have realized that since I do still have feelings for him that I can't be in a relationship with someone else because it would be unfair to the other person. But I haven't thought much about being back with Berny.
Why am I tossing all this out here? This is a locked post for women out there who I know are very strong and a couple of men who understand nd valuse feminine strength. I am feeling the need for that feminine strength. I need the input of strong women to tell me why Berny would need to bring up the love issue. I need the thoughts from other strong women for why I might have fallen back into bed with him so easily that night when I knew it was wrong. I need a view point of why Berny's input and support of all of this strife would be so much more soothing to me than that of every other person in my life...especially when I know I can't trust him to maintain it. Thoughts? Sympathy? Empathy? And yes, even the due smacks for being so...what ever it is I am being.....
He and I are supposed to maybe spend time together this weekend. I want the time with him as a friend. I want the placebo effect of his occasional support and compassion. But, that is ALL I want of our time together. I don't want to fall into the trap of "rewarding him for bad behavior" as D would put it.
no subject
Date: 2003-06-12 03:23 pm (UTC)It seems that he comes back and apologizes for hurting you, every time you are about to get over him. I don't think this bodes well. While every couple has their ups and downs, I don't feel like there's been an appropriate amount of respect and consideration given to you. I don't like that.
I think he needs to know that he 'has' you, but doesn't know what to do with you. If this was just a matter of some confusion/conflict, I'd say "You two will work through it." But, things have gone beyond that multiple times. I worry about you, because you deserve to be treated better than that.
Why would you fall in bed with him so easily? Easy ... you're going through an incredibly scary/tough situation right now. There's comfort in sex, there's comfort in being held, there's comfort in getting acknowledgment from someone you love and trusted. I think that's a very human thing to do.
So, be careful ...
{{hug}}
no subject
Date: 2003-06-12 04:05 pm (UTC)What she said.
no subject
Date: 2003-06-13 04:57 am (UTC)FH has it on the nose, I think. I also think, from what little I know of your relationship, that he'll play back-and-forth games with you as long as you let him continue to get away with it. Why would he not do so? There seem to be no consequences for him when he does.
You deserve better, and that's particularly not what you need at the moment.
no subject
Date: 2003-06-12 04:31 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2003-06-12 04:49 pm (UTC)Many years later, that boy and I spoke. He apologised for everything he had ever done to me. And to think I was scared of him...he was afraid of me. We became friends. To-day, I wonder where is he and if he is alright...or if he is alive.
It takes a great deal of time to find one's way, even if his is "lost," do not let him take you with him where he goes. That is not your path. Yours for now, is to be the strong woman you are...to find her, if she is lost. Lean on your friends, that is why we are here afterall. Find your strength in us, reflected back at you.
He needs the things you gave him...it is also a comfort to him. But, it is his fault for coming to you with his wants and needs at this time. He knows he can rely on you no matter what. He should rely on himself. "Love" is the word that brings us all back, men and women alike. It makes us strong and weak, brave and afraid...women tend to equate love wtih sex, it should not be so. Only in the context of a devoted relationship does it have that meaning. Well, not totally...Love and sex should be kept in separate boxes. I think especially now for you. I do not mean to be harsh, but for now self-love is of greater importance.
Keep him at a distance. Make sure that he still takes his resposibilities like a man. This weekend do be careful, do not let his words lull you back into his arms. It will make for more heartache and pain...and it comes quickly, then lingers.
You may have to wait on that friendship. Do not be disappointed if it does not work out that way. It was meant to be. It sounds like he still has a good bit of growing up to do and cannot handle it alone. That does not mean you have to help him. To grow he too must be on his own. Let him be.
Moreover, you should be at the centre of things...you and what to do with your pregnancy. It is not about him, it is about you and your path and life.
no subject
Date: 2003-06-12 05:03 pm (UTC)To add a bit....
LMD said:"You may have to wait on that friendship. Do not be disappointed if it does not work out that way."
This is VERY true...im like the king of being friends with exes. It makes grrlie nuts sometimes...but it cant be forced...you have to both be on the same path or a parallel one....he doesnt seem to be...and the way he is fucking with you it doesnt seem a healthy path for you. He is toxic to you...he fucks with your head and your heart....everytime you start to get strong it seems he senses that and has to do whatever it takes to knock your legs out from under you. STOP LETTING HIM.
LMD said you should be careful this weekend...i personally feel you shouldnt even hang out with him...but im an ass that way. IF i had any control over the situation he would be kept far away from you for at least 6 months...if not longer..until you had a chance to TRULY get over him and heal and be able to look back and see what he is doing now from a different perspective. Not one so close.
Good luck either way and be careful. THis guy is a slime and i dont trust him as far as i can throw him.
no subject
Date: 2003-06-12 05:08 pm (UTC)The one thing I do want is to keep him responsible, and do his part. I do not think you are being too harsh, you are right.
no subject
Date: 2003-06-12 05:00 pm (UTC)And if he can't or won't do that, well, he'll sell for $5.99 a pound in the deep Amazon.
no subject
Date: 2003-06-12 05:11 pm (UTC)I know you just barely, and i do not know him at all.
It really is none of my business giving opinions about your life, though quite honestly i would really like to see you free of all this badness.
Now, with those disclamers in place, I guess what
Tactical/Strategic analysis
Date: 2003-06-12 06:41 pm (UTC)Tactical analysis:
bringing up the love issues appears to short circuit your defense mechanisms. Note: He brings up these issues when it's just the two of you, no witnesses, no allies. He tends to find you when you are least able to stick to your guns. These alone would be circumstantial, together they paint a picture. I'm not at all pleased with the picture they paint. I'm seeing a person that is deliberately playing on your emotional and psychological vulnerabilities.
Strategic analysis:
From my vantage point he's not going for the outright win. He's trying to win a little bit at a time. If you push your opponent back one inch at an engagement, if you continue to engage them, you'll eventually gain some appreciable ground. He's methodical.
I don't want to get into personal opinions because that is counterproductive.
To regain tactical advantage you need to engage him in public. Preferably in public where you have allies. Like it or not, this is a conflict. You can choose to be engaged and loose ground, or you can choose to engage and gain ground. Hold his feet to his fire.
End Analysis.
What Little I Have To Add
Date: 2003-06-13 11:52 am (UTC)Regardless of his reasons, he is still trying to control you. It might be a power issue. It might be a self-esteem issue. It might be a multiple personalities issue. It might be an issue of Newsweek for all I know. But the pattern I see is manipulation. Just about every other comment here that I've read is something I agree with.
Being alone is a scary thing. I've watched dozens of friends and family members make major mistakes to avoid being alone. But I've spent lots of time alone and some time in relationships. It takes the same amount of strength to be alone as it does to maintain a healthy relationship. The rewards and trials are just different. I know you have the strength to be alone because you had the strength to try to have a relationship.
Just remember, no man is worth compromising your sanity, integrity, happiness, or strength over. Just continue to tell yourself what Sarah said at the end of Labyrinth when confronting Jareth: You have no power over me.
{hugs}
no subject
Date: 2003-06-13 12:54 pm (UTC)The only thing I can think to say is what I am telling myself... He's not going to change. So either adjust your vision of what sort of relationship you have accordingly or lay down the law, making him work for it for once.
no subject
Date: 2003-06-13 04:32 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-13 05:12 pm (UTC)